Deleted tracks can't be deleted from library

Mac 10.14 + A 3.5.37: When I delete a track (A turned off) and it stays in the trash, A finds that track in the trash. After emtying the trash the track stays in the library and can’t be deleted.
My files are on external HDD connected via USB.