A+ combining unrelated albums

I have run into two situations in which Audirvana + combines unrelated albums. I’m new to A+ and have a large iTunes library of nearly 2000 albums and more than 26k tracks - not the biggest library I’ve seen by any means, but substantial. About half the files are high-res and I have a significant number of DSD tracks. Because iTunes doesn’t recognize DSD files, I use DSD Master to create hybrid PCM-DSD files that iTunes can play, and BitPerfect to play high-res content including the embedded DSD content of the hybrid files. Unfortunately, the hybrid file format is proprietary and only recognized by BitPerfect, which is a shame. At the time I started using Audirvana +, I kept the original DSD files in a separate folder, but nested within each hybrid album folder inside the iTunes Media folder.

Situation 1: With DSD folders nested inside PCM versions of the same album within iTunes Media, I used A+ folder synchronization with the entire iTunes Media folder. The result was that A+ showed each DSD album as expected, but the DSD albums contained one or more unrelated PCM albums from elsewhere in the library. These were not the PCM versions of the same albums either, but completely unrelated, seemingly randomly selected albums. The album title, artist and artwork were all from the DSD album and if one attempted to get info on the merged PCM album files in iTunes, it would sometimes show the DSD album title, artist and artwork, but most times not. Needless to say, having metadata permanently changed is more than a bit problematic, particularly if I couldn’t remember the original values. I ended up spending several hours, removing the nested DSD folders, renaming them by artist and album title, and placing them in a separate directory outside the iTunes Media folder.