A question about EQ and TIDAL Masters (MQA)

Is EQ in AS applied to a TIDAL Masters (MQA) song? I guess not as it would break the MQA signalling to my external MQA DAC, but I’d like to understand what happens with EQ (Audio Units) if I play an MQA track in AS. Is the EQ bypassed in this case?

I have no experience with MQA. And don’t know how AS handles this either. But this seems to me to be a matter of testing.

Make an extreme EQ setting so you can hear the difference.

I can imagine that it matters how you set the settings to the DAC. If you set this as ‘not MQA’ then EQ could just be applied. As a decoder or renderer then EQ will not be applied?..?..

It turns out that AS disables EQ processing for MQA tracks (which I guess is the correct thing to do). I looked at the processing chain and it showed no processing for TIDAL Masters (MQA) songs, but did show my EQ being applied for regular FLAC songs.

Actually, I’m not sure if it makes sense that a file format determines whether it’s appropriate that you apply an EQ or correction.

But hey, I’m biased about MQA. I don’t understand what’s so good about it.

From what I understand, MQA has its own filters.

Maybe not possible now in Studio, but it should possible to do EQ to MQA tracks, provided:

1. Studio saves the rendering info to forward to the MQA renderer (i.e. DAC).

2. EQ is done after the MQA core decoder in Studio does the first “unfold”.

Roon does this!

Yes, this would be a good feature to have. Does Roon have some sort of agreement with MQA to retrieve the MQA signalling information, perform EQ, and then ‘inject’ the MQA signalling information back into the data stream post-EQ?