Album duplication and other strange behavior

I don’t use iTunes with Audirvana. Until today, I had three music folders on my Synology NAS (DS1019+): DSD files, FLAC files, and WAV files. Today, I turned those three folders into subfolders of a higher-level folder. When I deleted the synch command line for the three subfolders and added a synch command line for the new higher-level folder, Audirvana duplicated the albums in my library. Each duplicated album seemed to have the same file address on my NAS. Remembering a suggestion in this forum from about a year ago, I deleted Audirvana’s plist files in my Mac’s library. That did not fix the problem as it had before. When I deleted all of the synch command lines on the Preference page, I still saw albums in my library. Some albums showed album art for Performer A, but played music by Performer B. In other cases, Audirvana played part of a song by Performer A before moving on to the next song, which also was not fully played. I don’t want to try anything else until I hear from the experts. Thank you.

In case you don’t have a backup… you can redo your database…

If you have Playlists that are important export them first to desktop and save them in a folder…
when Audirvana is reset, you can re-import them back in one shot. sadly to this day, the folders
they were in if so, are not back, you have to do them again…

Apple hide the Home Folder in User Library at some time depending on OS System… When you have clicked your Home Folder, and cannot see the Library Folder in there, just do a ‘‘cmd J’’ to show the folder settings preferences and see at the bottom… click Show Library Folder and then you’ll have access to the rest forever.

If you continue and trash the database, you will lose also the play count number of how many times you played those songs… if important to you or not.

Go to Audirvana preferences panel and delete with - sign your music folder(s) there.
Close Audirvana.

Go to User… Home Folder… Library… Applications Support… Audirvana Folder…
Trash All the files in that folder (that is your database of music, back it up! or not).

Restart Mac. Restart Audirvana.
Add a music folder when asked or go to prefs again and add one with + sign.
LET IT SYNC, even better don’t try to adjust windows or edit files, even playing music
while it is not finished… you’ll see the progress bar going… Could be long the first time
depending on how large your library is, and Mac is fast or not…
go to sleep if it is too long. :slight_smile:

Then when finished, close Audirvana, yes close it before playing a song…
That way you will have your database from scratch saved without crashing or bugs.
Then copy the .sqlite file to somewhere else in a folder as a backup for today.
Do this as often you can, if you do many edits in your library or add many CDs, that way
if a bug comes back, you’ll have a not so far library to put back in the same place without bugs.

When copied, reopen Audirvana, and play a song. :slight_smile:

Thank you. Everything seems to be working properly now.