'Another' Volume Question

Despite numerous volume-related questions, I don’t see this question answered anywhere. Hope someone can clear this up.

I am new to Audirvana (trial, but plan to purchase). I am using Windows 10. I have noticed that the volume slider in Audirvana (with Software Volume Control DISABLED) is directly tied to the Windows playback volume slider. However, 100% on both the Windows volume and Audirvana slider is reported at +6db in Audirvana. It is my understanding that the Windows slider provides 0db at 100%, based on Microsoft support. Why is it reported in Audirvana as +6db?

I want all the volume control to be left to my DAC/AMP combo box (USB). To obtain the highest SQ, should the Audirvana/Windows volume sliders be set to 100%? Or Should the Audirvana slider be set to 0db (yields 71% on Windows volume slider)? Keeping in mind, this is with Audirvana Software Volume Control disabled.

It’s related to DSD to PCM conversion. Without the 6dB boost it would be too silent.

This is what I initially thought, but when setting “convert DSD to PCM with boost of” to a number other than the default 6dB (Such as 0) the slider still displays 6.0dB at 100%. Does this mean it is an interface error or that it really isn’t related to that setting as you mentioned?

Also, unless I am mistaken, I am not even using DSD so why should/would the slider’s interface default to telling me +6.0dB is 100% volume level in relation to Windows? Again, despite the DSD to PCM boost being set to any number, besides 6.

Don’t know, but if you want to have bit perfect playback, keep the software volume control disabled.