Audirvana + Pioneer N-50AE + Tidal MQA

I am new to Audirvana and went straight ahead with purchasing the licensed app. However, my first impressions are underwhelming and I have more problems than joy using Audirvana. I could put together a list of problems but let’s start with the most pressing issues first.

1. Pioneer N-50AE is an MQA capable device and I use it in this way with Tidal Hi-Fi subscription. Audirvana, however, does not recognise it and an MQA capable device automatically, although it should. I am trying to stream Tidal MQA track over DLNA and irrespective of the Audirvana MQA settings chosen, the Pioneer plays a WAV file, not an MQA. I’ve tried the same test with USB connecting (Pioneer N-50AE used as a USD DAC) with the same result. Is this normal? Should I not be getting MQA to the Pioneer instead of WAV?

2. Audirvana Remote Apps are VERY unstable and hardly usable. Connecting to the PC is flaky, I’m using an Oppo 105D along the Pioneer N-50AE streamer and very often the Pioneer is not visible in the network until at least it has been hard rebooted. Connections take a while to be established and most often than not there is no usable connection. I can see what’s playing but cannot control the stream.

In parallel with Audirvana, I am using a little and inexpensive App called M-Connect and it hasn’t skipped a beat with both my streamers. Connects reliably and swiftly to both and support MQA over DLNA with the Pioneer with flawless operation. I was hoping that Audirvana will be an upgrade to my streaming experience but it has not. So far, the worst 100 EUR spent on a piece of software.

You can manually set the MQA config to whatever your device supports, regardless of how it was recognized. Just disable auto MQA detection and set to MQA decoder or renderer.

As mentioned in my post, I tried all avalable MQA options, manual and automatic with the same result. MQA plays as WAV.