Audirvana Studio vs Audirvana sound quality

I’ve been using Audirvana for two years, about the the sound quality it is the best player. Today I tested Audirvana Studio and to my immense amazement, the sound is not the same. The two players sound similar, but not the same. For me the old Audirvana is the best, more clear, more details, more sound stage.
I don’t want to switch to the new one.

You’re lucky. You can save some money.

1 Like

Yes, thanks.
But I’m worried that support and development for the old version will be discontinued.

It will work for a while. When the moment comes and it no longer works, you’ll re-assess your options.

Do you upsample?

No upsample, players tuned with the same parameters, same mac, same cable, same DAC, same ampli, same headphone. Then after the firsts try session, after some hours I have done another test with different DAC, ampli and headphone, the results are the same.

Check back from time to time. This might change.

Which version do you use?
Thanks

Matt

I am interested in your comments. Do you use a Mac or Windows 10? I ask because I have both 3.5 and Studio with Windows 10 and while I agree that they are different I find the exact opposite with regard to the actual difference. What I hear is that Studio is much, much clearer with better soundstage/imaging and immense amounts of detail. I do feel that the old version is maybe a little more ‘natural’, even more ‘analogue’ sounding. In Studio I use kernel streaming setting and sometimes upsamling with R8brain setting, sometimes with no upsampling, especially if it is a hires source. Maybe you need to try some of the other settings before making up your mind which to retain. Which one sounds ‘best’ depends on the rest of equipment being used. For me, headphones (Sennheiser HD800s) favour Studio but speakers (Quad S4) favour 3.5. Both versions are really good players.

I use Mac Os. I don’t use oversampling.
I have a lot of headphones including (Sennheiser HD800s).