Audirvana vs Roon

Hi Audirvarna Community!

I’ve been using Audirvarna for about a year now and I’ve been using Roon for about two months.

I have A+ installed on two Mac’s. One for my headfi rig and one for my stereo set up. Forgive my ignorance, but I’ve not been able to stream from one installation to the other so I have one drive on each serving music (in addition to Tidal)’. This means I need to keep the drive synced when I add music.

I cant put my finger on it, but A+ just sounds better. Arguably Roon has the better interface, if you value that stuff. The meta data in Roon is nice, but when I switch on, my main priority is sound quality. This way I only need one audio repository.

BUT: The way Roon can spawn into a network is really it’s strength.

So my suggestion: If A+ can develop a similar protocol as RAAT, it will be the benchmark audio player in my view. This will make the integration of multiple systems in a household a breeze.

Kind Regards,

2 Likes

It already has it, it’s called UPnP.

1 Like

I have seen that. How does one make a Mac a UPnP device? So my one Audivarna interface can see the second Mac a potential streaming device?

Why you would like to stream from a Mac to another one? You want to stream from your Mac to your DAC, what device you use to listen to your music?

I have one A+ installation on a macbook. I have a Lumin D1 connected to the network. This A+ see’s the Lumin without any problem. Is this a UpnP connection? The macbook serves my music library.

I have another system with a mac mini connected to a Mytek Stereo 192 DAC. A+ is installed on this Mac too and is attached to a second hard drive with a duplicate of my music library. I have tried a network share but the performance on my network is too slow.

So my question is: Can I set up the Mac Mini to appear as one of the connected devices on the A+ installation on the macbook as one of the connected devices?