Basic Setup (MacBook Air > Self Powered wireless speakers)

I’m new to Audirvana and loving it! This my las week of the trial and before decide to pay for it I have some questions.

I use Audirvana with Tidal and Qobuz, no local files.

- I play Audirvana from MacBook Air > Airfoil > Apple TV > HomePod Speakers (Stereo paired).

Everything works fine with the set up above. I can even see the album art in my TV! I don’t now if Airfoil is compressing my High Resolution Qobuz or MQA Tidal songs to 16/44 bitrate because of the Airplay limitations. I strongly suspect it does, but not sure. Airfoil is very secretive when asking about what exactly they do with Airplay.

Does somebody knows if Airfoil compress the High Resolution audio?

- Upgrading my system to enjoy my high resolution music fully.

I know that you can play Tidal or Qobuz directly from your Computer/Audirvana to the Devialet Phamton speakers wireless . Unfortunately I can’t afford two Phantom speakers.

I want two self powered speakers, cheaper than the Phantoms, to be paired as stereo that allow me to play from my computer/Audirvana directly without an extra audio device (not streamers in the middle) like the Devialet speakers do.

What would it be my options, if any?

I hope the above makes sense. I’m new on this.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Airfoil is an AirPlay emulator (why do you use it instead of pure AirPlay?) hence you have the same limit of AirPlay concerning max resolution that is RedBook CD (16/44.1)
Regarding MQA, if you don’t have an MQA enabled dac you can’t go beyond 24/96 if your player is able to perform the first unfolding (like Audirvana) otherwise you are limited to 16/44.1

You could see Adam Audio, T series or A series, or something like Kef LSX

Stefano,

Thanks for your reply! Regarding your question “why do you use it instead of pure AirPlay?”