Confused ... Absolute beginner

Hi there, I am trying Audirvana as a belated refugee from the catastrophe that was iTunes … I have installed and logged in … and the app only shows me some kind of onscreen DAC module player … I still have not seen any kind of screen for my library that I recognise. Is there such a screen? I don’t understand!

Does it look like this?

Yes! That is all I can get. That can’t be it surely?

Luckily not. The mode you are in now you can select the music from iTunes and Audirvana ensures playback and therefore an improved quality.

Please disable ITunes integrated mode to get standard functionality.

ok so the device thingy is just a player to play from itunes? I am trying to replace itunes.

OK integration disabled … I see the ful library window now. Thank you.

OK I have to full interface now … it looks amazing, what I was looking for and more. SO I go to check how much it costs to buy … seems to be subscription only. Is this the case?

2 Likes

Yes, it’s not for sale, only for subscribers.

OK can anyone recommend an alternative that is not subscription based?

It depends on what are your requirements of the player.

Hi Joju

If you’re not worried about Tidal/Qobuz integration, then I’d look at JRiver. It’s not free however as you’ll have to purchase a license for the current version, but it isn’t subscription based.

I am quite happy to pay for a great app. Here is my checklist:

I am not streaming, I am download only. I don’t like subscription apps. I am rather old-fashioned I think …

I don’t want TV or video. Just music. I don’t want integration into retail platforms and definitely not into streaming!

I am looking for an app to manage a large music library, import my iTunes playlists, and play all formats. I want to transfer to my (vintage) ipod.
I would also really like an elegant, attractive and intuitive interface.

I would welcome your recommendations here, thank you for your wisdom everyone