DSD playback quality

Hi there, I am new to Audirvana but like it a lot, using it mainly to playback my vinyl recordings to dsd128 files. Question; does Audirvana change or enhance the sound I get from playing these dsd files e g in Foobar2000, and if so, in what ways?
thanks, Oystein

Only you can answer that question because this is highly subjective. Just compare Foobar2000 to Audirvana and judge for yourself.

If you play your tracks and you don’t use DSP (digital signal processing) (also disabling the volume control in Foobar and Audirvana), there should be no difference (in theory), because both should not alter the source (or add something) in that case. Audirvana and Foobar will then pass the bits ‘as is’ (‘bit perfect’) to your soundcard/DAC.

If you use upsampling or other forms of DSP in Audirvana or Foobar the sound will change. Then it simply depends on what you like the most, because, as said, this is highly subjective. Just follow your own taste.

All I can say is that both are excellent programs and I use them both on a regular basis. Both have very good sound quality and both have very different user interfaces. By the way, I am speaking from the perspective of a Windows user.

Edit: I forgot you are talking about DSD. If you play DSD files (from a hard drive?) directly via both Foobar or Audirvana both programs can not change or enhance the sound in any way even if they wanted to. Digital signal processing can only be done in the PCM (16, 24, 32 bits) domain and not in the (1 bit) DSD domain.

Thank you! Oystein

Hi again Andy