Kernel streaming DSD limitations

The internal sampling rate of a DSD 256 or 512 file goes below the input quality when kernel streaming, then being upsampled towards the hardware audio device. Using Asio, I see that it is upkeeping the resolution as far as it gets until it reaches limits of the hardware audio device, that is 24/192 kHz. WASAPI doesn’t keep up sampling rate on the route either. DSD anyway gets PCM converted right at the beginning of the chain.

So, is it that kernel streaming cannot route high DSD resolutions?

HW: Steinberg UR 44C

Kernel does not support DSD. At any rate.
ASIO does.

When the steinberg interface supports DoP you can play DSD over Kernel. But only at half the bandwith compared to ASIO.

edit: I don’t see that the steinberg interface supports DSD. Apparently I don’t understand the question.

1 Like

Thanks for the fast reply. I’m not technically firm in the way you have just clarified. Thanks again.

What exactly do you want to achieve? Want to play native DSD? Or convert DSD to the highest possible PCM (24/192)?

When I look at the specifications of the DAC it only supports PCM up to 24/192.

You can select ASIO and then copy the Debug info. If you post it here we can see what is possible

What do I want to achieve? Considering my UR44C device, I want to achieve the closest/highest streaming quality with the lowest possible altering of the original DSD25/512 input.

And it seems ASIO would be the best possible option here.

:notes: :eye: :headphones: :eye: :notes: @Gorch The Steinberg interface does not support DSD at any resolution Fs… It supports PCM to maximum sample-rate of 192kHz and 24 and 32bit bit depths… You will need to down-convert DSDxxx to PCM 192kHz…