Migrating from macOS to Windows

Hey Audirvanists.

I’m in the process of building a new machine (Windows) and plan on moving my music library over in the process. The main library is on a Mac. I have a couple of questions.

Licensing: Can I transfer the license (deauthorize then reauthorize) on the new machine?

Library: The bigger issue is will I be able to migrate my database from the Mac to the new Windows machine? Obviously the file paths with be different, but I wonder if anyone’s had success porting their SQLite databases over? Is there an Export / Import option?

I plan on saving the databases in any case. I’m a developer and will do what I can to salvage my playlists and favorites, but was wondering if anyone’s made the effort already and can save me some time.

happy listening!

(currently listening to Beach House “7”)

Hello @robcee , 1) License :Based on what I have red in this forum, the license is attached to a user, regardless of the OS , so you should not have a problem to register on your new machine. 2) database export : I have done that several times , moving files from a HD to a NAS , then from a NAS to a SSD, etc … I use the 1st method described in the Audirvana preferences, so you don’t have to bother with export utilities… you just need to specify a path where your music folders are located , and your audio files will appear immediately in the Audirvana library window.

yes, I transfer my music between my main machine, a NAS and laptop already and have no problem with doing that. What I’m more interested in preserving are my playlists and favorites which aren’t part of the song files’ metadata. Thanks for the response, @AlainJ!

I’m interested too in migrating audirvana to w10 based PC. The reason is mostly because of the playback of the dsd files, in w10, with driver can play native dsd files, w/out using the DoP option.
For licence I’m think that must be bought for windows, with 30% discount (Audirvana site)