New to HiRes audio... is Audirvana Studio the latest?

I’m new to HiRes audio. Audirvana came recommended so just signed up for the free Audirvana Studio free trial (only option available). I thought I would be getting just a standalone player so I can play some DSD files but it looks like this is a subscription based app. Is that right?

Does Audirvana Studio not support FLAC? I can’t seem to drag this to the window to play them.

If there is a beginners resource that can speed up the learning curve, please let me know. I.e. I was trying to add my local library, and it said to click “add new folder” but this was nowhere to be found in the “Local” section. After searching, apparently it is located within settings.

Goto Preferences, Local, click on add a folder
FLAC files work very well

1 Like

Thanks, I guess it was still preparing my library, and it wasn’t available yet. Is there any ad-hoc player or do I have to always add a folder and have Audirvana “discover” it before I can play it?

I’m running a xSPDIF 2 to my PS Audio Directstream DAC via I2S. I was able to successfully play a .dsf file at DSD256, which I was extremely happy about, but can anyone make sense of the what I’ve attached?

When I play the same FLAC file through my Windows Media Player, it plays at 48k and 24 Bits. Playing through Audirvana shows it as 44.1K and 16 Bits.

The file is a 16/44.1 FLAC file. The raw pcm bitstream is 1411 kbps. After lossless data compression from FLAC, in this case, around 500 kbps remains.

The 32bit on the right has been a discussion for years. If you play the file bit perfect, the 16/44.1 stream will also be sent to the DAC.
32bit on the right is what the DAC is telling Audirvana as the actual bitdepth of the connection. Not the the bitdepth of the file being played.
A 16-bit ‘word’ in a 32-bit environment remains the same data. Zeros are added to it to fill it up. (not technically the same, but 1.0 equals 1.00000).