Noob: MConvolutionEZ Sample rate question

Hey everyone,

I have been using Melda MConvolutionEZ with pretty decent success with UPnP after @Antoine recommended it. Streaming Tidal to a WiiM Pro using a MacBook M1 with 8gb RAM.

I have one question - bear in mind that I am new to convolution/DSP and still learning the ins and outs.

When I play a track with a certain sample rate, say 48khz, and I use a 48khz convolution file, everything is great. However when I play a track with a higher sample rate, it often results in distortion (e.g. Dream Brother by Jeff Buckley @192Khz). Loading up a convolution filter with the same sample rate as the track seems to fix this, but there is a chance that I will forget to do so at some point (its not exactly the most user friendly way around). This may or may not be related to the piercing, trouser soiling static noise that occasionally plagues listening sessions (as described in other threads). I will make a separate thread for that though because it seriously ruins the experience to an extent that should spark .

Has anyone else experienced and found a workaround for this via MConvolutionEZ or another convolver?

I tried upsampling lower sample rates and downsampling higher ones to a middle-of-the road figure (88khz) and loading an 88khz file, but that results in super low volume with lower sample rate tracks.

Thanks in advance!

What is the behavior when you connect directly from your computer to the DAC via USB?..

You have 8GB of System RAM to work with… How many filters are you employing in the convolution host?.. Also, you must manage your gain structure through the entire processing chain so to avoid overload distortion (digital clipping). Adding a single plug-in alone adds approximately 2db of gain.

:notes: :eye: :headphones: :eye: :notes:

Thanks for the quick response @Agoldnear

What is the behavior when you connect directly from your computer to the DAC via USB?..