How I Used a Parametric EQ For Partial Hearing Loss

EDIT: This thread started as questions and after many trials and errors, arrived at a solution that is working for me.

It was called to my attention that perhaps others would benefit from the results and hence renaming the thread.

The renaming has been done, but to find the answers, you will need to go through the thread. there is a lot of valuable stuff along the way.

Forgive me for my ignorance, as I am fairly new to this digital stuff and also not sure if this is the correct forum for this question.

I have slight hearing loss in the upper middle frequencies and higher.

My current setup seems to be doing well, but what I am reading, it seems a digital parametric EQ would be better.

My current approach:

• analog EQ after the DAC with everything in the lower to mid frequencies set at minus 3db and gradual increase on the remaining up to 0db, keeping the whole spectrum at or below 0db. This seems fine with no detectable noise.

I am running the latest Studio version on an older 2013 Mac, sofware version 10.1.

My questions to all you experts, would there be an advantage using a digital parametric EQ? If so, is there anything that will work on my older system? Most of what I have found requires 10.8 of higher. Also, I don’t have a clue, as to how to install to get it up and running.

This will be used for Flack and Tidal/Qobuz streaming, not DSD.

Thanks

1 Like

Not sure if this will work for you or your os version but I find it quite useful for headphones listening with my hearing loss in one ear . It will correct for left and right channels independently

https://www.fabfilter.com/products/pro-q-3-equalizer-plug-in

Thanks for the tip @OffRoad.

This was an easy install for a beginner. I have it up and running testing currently. It is supported with my OS.

1 Like