Relational Database for our shared Music Library

Dear all

My name is Marco, I am from Switzerland and I work in IT. I run Audirvana on an IMac, my Peachtree DAC/AMP is connected via async USB. Everything works like a charm.

I work on relational Databases all day long and enjoy the advantages that come along with them contrary to file based data storage.

So here is my proposition: We use a relational Database in the Cloud, AWS, where we store files as BLOB. We create a Rest API, where a user uploads his files, if the file is not yet in the database, we add it. Then we store that the user owns this song. If a second person uploads the same file, we already have the file in the database, then we only add the song to the user.

Then, Audirvana simply connects to the database similar to the known streaming services and lets you play all your songs.You only see the songs that belong to. We would maintain the meta data, make sure there is a nice picture for every album, the moment one person adds the picture to the database, every user that owns a song from this album would see the picture.

If you want the files, you could download a Zip file with all the files your user has.

Please let me know what you think about it
Marco

1 Like

Hi Marco,

Copyright issues would kill this idea immediately. It might have made sense in a world with plantfull bandwidth but limited and expensive storage.

In the world where the bandwidth is mostly enough (at least in the developed world) and the storage is cheap, there is little incentive to implement something like this. Just imagine all the streaming services all storing pretty much the same content.

Storing files in a local database as BLOBs also doesn’t make sense due to the processing overhead associated with the retrieval and storage.