Trying to get started on the right note

Bonjour—

New Audirvana user here, I’m wanting to add to my iTunes environment I’ve been using with BitPerfect for about 10 years. I’ve read what I can find and watched the YouTube’s, but don’t see an actual manual, so I have some novice questions.

I’ve taken an extra Mac mini and done a fresh install of Catalina and the Music App (no BitPerfect), I then added my music to it and got a working Music App (with Album Artwork) and Apple Remote App. I then installed the Trial Audirvana and pointed it to my files, it also works as does the iPad Remote App. I think from the little I’ve read here in the forum that Library Sync is preferable, but I don’t know why, nor what the pro’s and cons are (my library is only about 500GB).

My goals with Audirvana are to more reliably play my varied bit rate/depth files, mostly 44/16 ripped CDs, and HDTracks (96/24 or 88/24) both in ALAC; and a small smattering of MP3’s. Improved audio would be a bonus, as would reliable album and artist artwork.

I need iTunes integration so that we can access the music library from our Apple TV’s and into the Home Theatre, but I want Audirvana to play into my two channel system — I’m assuming USB is preferable, but TOSLink is also available — there is an 8Ft/2.5M distance in either case.

Sorry to be so wordy (it’s my way), I’m willing to read I just can’t find anything outside the FAQ. Feel free to point me to any useful documentation.

Here are my questions:

• Is there a preferred way to auto start these two Apps?

• What are the pros & cons of Monitored folders vs Library sync?

• Though my Apple Music App had embedded Album artwork for all entries, only some art made it to Audirvana. I read something about a .jpg in the music folder, is that the preferred/only way? Is there any way to fix Artist Artwork? What are the preferred file format/sizes?

• Are there other recommendations for my situation?

Merci beaucoup pour votre aide