No MQA / Masters Streaming with Tidal Anymore on 3.5.X

Re-starting this topic that was archived in November 2022.
As of January 2023, MQA / Masters are streaming at 14/44 FLAC quality on 3.5.50 or even the “fixed” 3.5.50_tidal version that came out following the infamous Tidal Streaming debacle here Unable to open an audio file for playback - #56

MQA/Master streaming is working on Audirvana Studio and Tidal Desktop app, so the problem is with the Legacy 3.5.XX version.

My setup is a 2012 5,1 Mac Pro running Mojave 10.14.6

Suddenly having the same issue with Audirvana 3.5.50. I have tried to troubleshoot and found the following:

Under Streaming Account settings, If I am on Tidal Lossless, I get the “stopping audio device…” followed by “Unable to open an audio file for playback” issue on certain tracks, not all. Some tracks play fine.

If I set my quality preference under Tidal streaming to Low or High, I get playback without any issues so far.

I have a HiFi tier subscription with Tidal. This issue has occurred before, and I gave up and used the Tidal app for a month or two. I almost quit Hifi though. The playback was lacklustre and disappointing. Decided to try Audirvana again, and without any intervention from me, everything worked again on the Lossless setting. Been a few months now without any issues.

Please sort this out.

1 Like

After being affected by the previous issue for months, it was eventually resolved and everything was great.

However, like the original poster says, early this year the same issues returned and I can now no longer stream on any quality above High. I get the same “unable to open audio file for playback” error when attempting to play content of lossless or higher.

The last time this was an issue it seemed to be related to a change on Tidal side that affected how 3.5 accessed the Tidal content. It took many months to resolve. Hopefully this time it takes less time?